Axe To Grind // The Funky Philosopher – Prince’s Sage Wisdom Lives On

I still can’t discuss how I feel about Prince’s passing. That statement is literal, so let’s get down to the business of this post: The Philosophy of The Artist.

Here are some quotes that exemplify why this man was so much more than a pop singer:

prince 4

“New Power Generation”

Lay down your funky weapon, come join us on the floor
Making love and music’s the only things worth fighting for
We are the new power generation, we want to change the world.

prince 12

“Controversy”

Do I believe in god, do I believe in me?
Some people want to die so they can be free
I said life is just a game, we’re all just the same, do you want to play?
Yeah, oh yeah
prince 10

 “1999”

I was dreamin’ when I wrote this, forgive me if it goes astray
But when I woke up this mornin’, could’ve sworn it was judgment day
The sky was all purple, there were people runnin’ everywhere
Tryin’ to run from the destruction, you know I didn’t even care

prince 7

“7”

And we lay down on the sand of the sea
And before us animosity will stand and decree
That we speak not of love only blasphemy
And in the distance, six others will curse me
But that’s alright (that’s alright)
For I will watch them fall (one, two, three, four, five, six, seven)
prince 6

“I Would Die 4 U”

I’m not a human
I am a dove
I’m your conscious
I am love
All I really need is to know that
You believe

prince 5

My life is forever better for his living. And I just need to remember one thing:

prince final

ELeCtRic WorD LifE ThaT MeAnS 4eVeR anD ThatS A MigHtY LoNg TiMe

Leave a Reply

